Torah

The word torah – תרה means "law." Therefore, the Torah is the book that contains the Law given to the children of Israel by God. It specifically refers to the five books of Moses – Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. The Torah contains all the commandments that Jews are expected to live by and provides a foundation for pious living. All other works such as the Mishnah and Talmud are commentary on the Torah.